Starting a Kansas Pesticide Business
*Do Not Engage Pesticide Business Activity Until License Is Issued*
The use of pesticides is regulated under the Kansas Pesticide Law. "Pesticides" includes herbicides, insecticides, fungicides, rodenticides, etc. The Law requires individuals to become certified as commercial applicators and businesses to become licensed to apply pesticides to someone else’s property for compensation.
Category or Categories of the Business
Read the descriptions of the commercial pesticide applicator categories and subcategories. Compare these descriptions to the planned business activity.
For each category in which the business will operate, at least one employee must have a current Kansas commercial pesticide applicator certification in the same category. This certification requirement can be met by hiring appropriately certified staff and/or by the owner becoming certified. The certification requirement can be met with a single applicator certified in all of the business categories or with applicators certified in individual or multiple categories so that all of the business categories are covered. There is no requirement for any given individual to be certified in all of the business categories. Nor is it a business licensure requirement for the owner be certified but often the owner opts to do so and we strongly recommend it.
- Obtain Study Manuals. Most commercial pesticide applicator study manuals are available from the Kansas State University Distribution Center, county extension offices or a KSU website. Everyone must take the General exam based on the General manual in addition to the category or subcategory exam to become a certified applicator.
- Study and Take Exams. Thoroughly study the manuals and come to an exam site with a photo ID. Preregistration is not required. An application form is completed at the exam site and exam fees are $45 per examination. General exam and exam retakes are also each $45.
Apply for a Kansas Pesticide Business License
- Fill out the Pesticide Business License application form. Be sure to list all employees who will apply pesticides for the business.
- If registered technicians will be employed, be sure to include a Pesticide Registered Technician Application for each registered technician.
- Show proof of financial responsibility - pick one of 4 choices listed here.
- Calculate the fee
- $140 for each business license category
- $15 for each uncertified applicator
- $40 for each registered technician
- Mail application form, proof of financial responsibility, and the correct fee to the Records Center at the address listed at the top of the first page.
Be sure to access the agency Pesticide Business page for more information in regards to requirements, regulations, record keeping and for starting a pesticide business in Kansas.