Feed and Seed Forms
For more information, visit Feed and Seed Program's website.
Commercial Feeding Stuffs License
Manufacturers, importers, jobbers, firms, associations, corporations, or persons that sell, offer or expose for sale or distribute commercial feed in Kansas must have a commercial license for each manufacturing facility located in the state. Commercial feed includes feed for livestock, poultry, pets, specialty pets, and customer formula feed regardless of package container size or amount. A license is not required of persons distributing only commercial feed products of a Kansas licensee. Out-of-state manufacturers, importers, jobbers, firms, associations, corporations, or persons not having a distribution facility in the state must have a license for that entities principal office if feed is sold, offered for sale, exposed for sale, or distributed in Kansas. The fee for a commercial feeding stuffs license is $10 and shall be renewed on or before July 1st. Kansas Department of Agriculture mails renewal packet yearly.
Distillers Wet Grains Exemption Information Sheet
This information document is to clarify the exemption for feed that consists of 60 percent or more of water from commercial feeding stuffs.
Feed Stuffs Breakdown Sheet
Confidential, semi-annual report of registered commercial feeding stuffs tonnage sold in Kansas.
Feed Small Package Product Registration
This application is to be included with the Commercial Feeding Stuffs License application if you are manufacture or distribute pet food. In the case of pet foods which are distributed in the state in packages of 10 pounds or less, an annual fee of $25 per product shall be paid in lieu of tonnage reporting.
Feed Speciality Pet Product Registration
This application is to be included with the Commercial Feeding Stuffs License application if you manufacture or distribute specialty pet food (canaries, goldfish, snakes, turtles, etc.). An annual registration of specialty pet food products distributed in packages of one pound or less is required. Annual fee of $15 per product shall be paid in lieu of tonnage reporting. Appropriate remittance and labels must accompany the request for registration.
Feed Tonnage Fact Sheet
This fact sheet provides information on reporting tonnage on the Commercial Feeding Stuffs License application. Feed manufacturers are required to pay an inspection fee on feed products and ingredients sold in Kansas. The current fee is 5 cents per ton of feed sold with a minimum fee of $15. These fees are used to fund the Kansas Department of Agriculture's Feed and Seed (ACAP) Program.
Online Seed Business Registration
Seed businesses and dealers can register or re-register online.
Seed License Application All businesses and individuals who sell agricultural seed are required to register with the State of Kansas, obtain a seed license and comply with the Kansas seed law. Agricultural seed means the seed of grass, legume, forage, cereal and fiber crops or mixtures thereof, but shall not include horticultural seeds. All businesses selling seed are subject to inspection, which includes sampling and analyzing seed and verifying all labeling requirements. Seed licenses expire August 31.
Seed Retailer - A retail business is one that sells to the end user, and it must have a $10 retail license.
Seed Wholesaler - A wholesaler is any person who is in the business of selling agricultural seed at wholesale to any person other than the end user. License fee is $175.
Combination (Wholesaler and Retailer) - If a business is both a retailer and a wholesaler, a $185 fee must be paid for licensing.
Seed Conditioners - We require all seed conditioners to register every two years, but we currently do not require a registration fee.
The Kansas Business Center is a one-stop-shop for information and resources that new and existing business owners will need in order to do business in Kansas.